MX Nationals cleans up at Hawkstone

MX Nationals cleans up at Hawkstone

Michelin MX Nationals British Championship, Round 3, Hawkstone Park.

Sunday 27th May, 2018.

The third round of the hugely-popular Michelin MX Nationals British Championship cleaned up at Hawkstone Park today. The weather held off until the last two laps of the final Pro race, and the overall consensus from all participants was that the ‘Nationals’ had once more delivered a flawless weekend of motocross racing at its very best.

In the Pro MX1 class, it was business as usual in both motos for Buildbase Honda’s flying Jake Nicholls. He was followed across the finish line by Elliott Banks-Browne (EBB) and Estonian Gert Krestinov. Whilst Nicholls’ winning margin was again considerable to the tune of over 30-seconds, EBB had his work cut out in both races, with nano-seconds separating him from the hard-charging Krestinov.

Over in the Pro MX2 group; Revo Husqvarna’s Martin Barr, now fully recovered from injury, made his 2018 MX Nationals maiden appearance. Setting fastest qualifying time, he was looking in fine form and took a solid second in the opening moto. A crash in the second moto, when he was trying to catch EBB put him down the proceedings but he said he felt good, and was glad to be back racing at the ‘Nationals’. Team-mate Mel Pocock, also recovering from injury, posted a third and second place finish. Two-stroke mounted Brad Anderson again ruled the MX2 class with two wins and the overall on the day.

In the Clubman classes, Brad Thornhill took a win and second in MX2 to lay claim to the overall on the day with 90 points, whilst in the MX1 group, Jamie McCarthy and Joe Roberts took a win apiece.

The Experts saw Josh Waterman, James Dodd and Richard Birch take the MX1 top three positions in the first race of the day, with Brad Cavill, Dodd and Waterman taking one-two-three in the second moto. Jason Meara, Ben Putnam and Jamie Wainwright were out front in the MX2 group first race, with Josh Coleman, Meara and Wainwright doing the honours in the second.

MXY2 was all about Callum Green with two wins ahead of Aaron-Lee Hanson, Denny Rapson, and then  Rapson and Josh Peters. In MXY1 Dominic Lancett and Adam Kovacs shared the winners’ spoils with RFX Crescent’s Joel Rizzi taking two seconds.

In the smallest capacity class, namely the BW/SW85s, Ollie Colmer beat racing rival Bailey Johnston in the final race to take his first overall of the season. In the BW sector, Ryan Mawhinney took a third and first place to take the overall on the day.


Pro MX 1

Race 1. 1. Jake Nicholls, 2. Elliot Banks-Browne, 3. Gert Krestinov, 4. Ryan Houghton, 5. Liam Knight, 6. Dan Thornhill

Race 2. 1. Jake Nicholls, 2. Elliot Banks-Browne, 3. Gert Krestinov, 4. Liam Knight, 5. Micky Eccles, 6. Ryan Houghton

Overall: 1. Nicholls 50 points, 2. Elliot Banks-Browne 44, 3. Gert Krestinov 40, 4. Liam Knight 34, 5. Ryan Houghton 33, 6. Carlton Husband 25

Pro MX 2

Race 1. 1. Brad Anderson, 2. Martin Barr, 3. Mel Pocock, 4. Todd Kellet, 5. Alexander Brown, 6. Robbie Dowson

Race 2. 1. Brad Anderson, 2. Mel Pocock, 3. Todd Kellet, 4. Michael Ellis , 5. Josh Gilbert, 6. Jordan Eccles

Overall: 1. Brad Anderson 50 points, 2. Mel Pocock 42, 3. Todd Kellet 38, 4. Michael Ellis 30, 5. Alexander Brown 30, 6. Lewis Tombs 27

Clubman MX2

Race 3. 1. Brad Thornhill, 2. Fabio Rizzi, 3. Adam Pierce

Race 4. 1. Harry Foster, 2. Brad Thornhill, 3. Adam Pierce

Overall: 1. Brad Thornhill 90 points, 2. Adam Pierce 85, 3. Harry Foster 80

Clubman MX1

Race 3. 1. Jamie McCarthy, 2. Joe Walklett, 3. Guy Prince

Race 4. 1. Joe Roberts, 2. Guy Prince, 3. Chris Neesan

Overall: 1. Joe Roberts 91 points, 2. Aiden Christie 76, Guy Prince 73

Expert MX1

Race 3. 1. Josh Waterman, 2. James Dodd , 3. Richard Bird.

Race 4. 1. Brad Cavill, 2. James Dodd, 3. Josh Waterman

Overall: 1. Josh Waterman 95 points, 2. James Dodd, 3. Richard Bird 76

Expert MX2

Race 3. 1. Jason Meara, 2. Ben Putnam, 3. Jamie Wainwright

Race 4. 1. Josh Coleman, 2. Jason Meara, 3. Jamie Wainwright

Overall: 1. Josh Coleman 87 points, 2. Jason Meara 79, 3. Jamie Wainwright 70


Race 3. 1. Callum Green, 2. Aaron-Lee Hanson, 3. Denny Rapson

Race 4. 1. Callum Green, 2. Denny Rapson, 3. Josh Peters

Overall: 1. Callum Green 72 points, 2. Aaron-Lee Hanson 69, 3. Josh Peters 55


Race 3. Dominic Lancett, 2. Joel Rizzi, Adam Kovacs

Race 4. 1. Adam Kovacs, 2. Joel Rizzi, 3. Kyle McNicol

Overall:  1. Adam Kovacs 95 points, 2. Dominic Lancett 82, 3. Joel Rizzi 70


Race 3. 1. Sam Atkinson, 2. Alfie Jones, 3. Ryan Mawhinney

Race 4. 1. Ryan Mawhinney, 2. Jack Grayshon, 3. Etan Lane

Overall: 1. Ryan Mawhinney 95 points, Alfie Jones 80, Sam Atkinson 76


Race 3. 1. Bailey Johnston, 2. Ollie Colmer, 3. Ben Mustoe

Race 4. 1. Ollie Colmer, 2. Bailey Johnston, 3. Charlie Reynolds

Overall: 1. Ollie Colmer 94 points, 2. Baily Johnston 94, 3. Charlie Reyolds 72

Pictured: Pro MX2 leader Brad Anderson