Elliott Banks-Browne goes fastest in MX Nationals round four qualifying

Elliott Banks-Browne goes fastest in MX Nationals round four qualifying

Geartec Husqvarna’s Elliott Banks-Browne posted a lap time of 1:39.505 in this morning’s Pro MX1 timed qualifying at Sherwood MX, to take his first pole of the 2018 MX Nationals season. He left it to the very last lap to edge out racing rival and long-time pal Jake Nicholls (Buildbase Honda) by just .002 of a second. At the end of qualifying he said he was feeling good and knew that when he was down in third or fourth, he could go faster.

In the MX2 class, Buildbase Honda’s new recruit Josh Gilbert, was fastest throughout the 15-minute timed qualifying. His time of 1:40.874 placed him seventh overall in the mixed session. Acknowledging the uncommon levels of heat, he said it was going to be a case of mind over matter when the racing gets underway.

Dan Thornhill crashed out of qualifying and didn’t re-join the session, but he got up and walked away, so hopefully will be back out for race one.


  1. Elliott Banks-Browne 1:39.505
  2. Jake Nicholls 1:39.784
  3. Tony Craig 1:40.158
  4. Micky Eccles 1:40.527
  5. Ryan Houghton 1:40.587
  6. Gert Krestinov 1:40.710
  7. Nathan Dixon 1:41.531
  8. Kristian Whatley 1:42.005
  9. Carlton Husband 1:42.470
  10. Liam Knight 1:42. 605


  1. Josh Gilbert 1:40.874
  2. Martin Barr 1:41.497
  3. Lewis Tombs 1:41.854
  4. Brad Todd 1:42.364
  5. Alexander Brown 1:42.820
  6. Glenn McCormick 1:43.386
  7. Michael Ellis 1:43.399
  8. Tom Neal 1:43.947
  9. Brad Anderson 1:43.988
  10. Luke Smith 1:44.184